Chocolate Mint Sandwich Christmas Cookie Recipe (with gluten-free option!)

Well, I never did make it out to my studio this week…. the blizzard kept me in until Saturday, and then I only got out to pick up artwork from a gallery show in Denver.

 So, I thought I’d share a favorite Christmas cookie recipe.  And, since more of my friends and family are being diagnosed as gluten-intolerant, I’ve adapted it to make it gluten-free.  Enjoy – Merry Christmas!

 Chocolate Mint Sandwich Cookies

David Castle’s Mint Sandwich Cookies

 2 cups flour

[gluten-free:  instead of 2 cups flour, substitute: 2/3 cup superfine white rice flour, 2/3 cup corn starch, 2/3 cup tapioca flour, and 2 teaspoons potato flour]

½ cup cocoa
2 teaspoons baking soda
pinch salt
2/3 cup unsalted butter
¾ cup granulated sugar
¼ cup light corn syrup
1 egg

 24 round York Peppermint Patties (unwrapped)

 Combine flour(s), cocoa, baking soda, and salt in small bowl.  Beat butter, white sugar and corn syrup until creamy.  Beat in egg.  Gradually mix in flour mixture.  Refrigerate dough for 2 hours.  Roll dough into scant 1” balls and roll in white granulated sugar.  Bake on an ungreased baking sheet in a preheated 350-degree oven for 10 to 12 minutes.  Immediately remove half of the baked cookies, placing them upside down on a wire rack.  Working quickly, place a peppermint patty on each inverted cookie and top with a second cookie from the baking sheet.  Let stand for 3 minutes and then using a flat hand, gently flatten the sandwich (using a slight twisting motion helps) so the melted peppermint patty oozes to the cookie edge.

Makes about 2 dozen cookies.

11 thoughts on “Chocolate Mint Sandwich Christmas Cookie Recipe (with gluten-free option!)

  1. matthew December 25, 2006 / 9:18 am

    David, thanks for posting this recipe. I made these yesterday and they turned out great. Thanks for sharing insight into your world besides just your art! Merry Christmas.

  2. Alyson B. Stanfield January 3, 2007 / 3:57 pm

    YUM! I’m all for ANYTHING with York Peppermint Patties in them! And, as you know, I appreciate the GF option.

  3. Alyson B. Stanfield January 3, 2007 / 3:59 pm

    P.s. I love that you wrote “unwrapped” next to the Patties. The first time I made macaroni and cheese from a box was for two kids I was babysitting and I never drained the water! They got macaroni and cheese “soup” and couldn’t figure out why it didn’t taste like their Mom’s. Imagine biting in to a YPP wrapper . . .

  4. Ginger Carter Miller December 13, 2007 / 2:36 pm

    Hi David, I’m Steve’s friend Ginger in Georgia. Those look AMAZING. YUM

  5. glutenfreeforgood December 30, 2007 / 7:32 am

    Well, hello — I just googled “gluten free mint patty” and your blog showed up. These little treats look very yummy. I will add them to my GF recipe list. Thank you.

    And nice to “meet” you!
    Melissa

  6. Jackie November 25, 2008 / 1:31 pm

    Hi there,
    I am thrilled to finally find this recipe – I made it, or something very similar, about 5-6 years ago, and never could find the recipe again – looking every holiday season! Thank you so much for posting it!
    Jackie

Leave a comment