Painting accepted for the 33rd Annual Western Federation of Watercolor Societies Exhibition

I’m continually fascinated by the jurying results of the various events I send art entries in for… from outdoor art festivals such as the Cherry Creek Arts Festival (to which I’ve applied for years and have not been accepted yet) to group exhibits like the Rocky Mountain National Watermedia Exhibit (where my painting, Elementals No. 18, was selected for the 2007 exhibition as the only painting not framed traditionally under glass).

In December, I was notified that my painting, Elementals – Autumn No. 3, was selected as one of only 15 paintings choosen from Colorado artists for the 33rd Annual Western Federation of Watercolor Societies (WFWS) Exhibition at the Tubac Arts Center in Tubac, Arizona (February 22 – April 6, 2008).  Wow!  I’ll be honest that this isn’t one of my favorite paintings, but I achieved a great level of precision in the creation of my elemental squares in this painting.  Sometimes I’m still amazed at how precise my technique was when I created this painting.  Over the last year, I’ve submitted it to several exhibits and am happy that it was finally selected for this exhibition.

By the way – I’ve created a Limited Edition Fine Art Print from this original that reproduces wonderfully.  It also looks great when hung in a grouping with my LE print, Elementals – Five Autumn Trees, as I recently installed in a CEO’s office at a corporation here in Denver.

elementals-autumn-no-3.jpg
Elementals – Autumn No. 3, 2006, watercolor on paper, 22 x 30″.

Leave a comment