Painting the Sea and Sky Like This Calms My Nerves

This year has been a struggle for me as I live my artist’s life with ongoing depression and rising anxiety. Some might say I’m just another “tortured” artist, but it has taken me 20+ years to become accustomed to what “normal” feels like for me. And how I feel has changed alot this year for me.

So, as I work to get back to my own normal, one of my trusty therapies is my painting process. And besides trees, the sea and sky is one of my most favorite subjects. Painting the expansive sea and the ever-changing sky along with a nice, crisp horizon line holding them together almost always calms my nerves.

See what you think (and feel) with my latest sea and sky painting below. It’s titled No. 6 but is the only larger sea and sky painting to date that I’ve completely finished and mounted on panel. Click the painting or the link below to view it on my website.

Sure wish we were there in No. 6, don’t you?

Thanks for looking and for supporting my art!

IMG_5937
“Oregon Coast Sea and Sky No. 6”, oil and metallic watercolor on panel, 12 x 12 inches, $400 (available on my website).
2 thoughts on “Painting the Sea and Sky Like This Calms My Nerves

  1. Michael Richards (certainline) August 19, 2016 / 1:17 pm

    I love the way you ‘suggest’ the breaking waves and that blue towards the bottom of the picture is wonderful.

  2. Seth August 22, 2016 / 3:59 pm

    This piece is a stunner but I am truly sorry that you are struggling.

Leave a Reply

