Percolation Complete: My Word(s) for 2013

I’ve been percolating on my list of words for the new year long enough… I’ve actually known which one is the winner for awhile, but spent some time considering a secondary word to choose, too.  So, considering that 2012 was mostly spent focusing on projects other than my art (moving to Ohio, career researching, caring for my Uncle Jack), I think the perfect primary word for 2013 is: ESTABLISH.  This relates to everything I’ve been planning for my art in the new year… more about how as I progress!

I’ve also decided on a secondary word that relates more directly to the art I will be creating: METALLIC. Many of my fans and collectors know that I’ve used metallic watercolors (and gouache and acrylic) for years, but I really want to explore the range of subtle-to-saturate with purpose.  More on that as I progress, too!

Meanwhile, here’s a just-finished painting in my latest “panes” elementals with some great metallics.

David Castle, "Pyrrol Autumn", watercolor on paper (canvas-mounted), 12 x 12 inches, $250.
David Castle, “Pyrrol Autumn”, watercolor on paper (canvas-mounted), 12 x 12 inches, $250.
6 thoughts on “Percolation Complete: My Word(s) for 2013

  1. Alex Grant January 24, 2013 / 8:10 am

    “Pyrrol Autumn” is a beautiful piece, David.

  2. maugryph January 24, 2013 / 2:58 pm

    Very awesome painting.

  3. Linda Halcomb January 24, 2013 / 3:09 pm

    Great painting – very well designed.

  4. Marc Coulter January 24, 2013 / 6:07 pm

    I love it! I love the idea of the metallics and I love those colors!

  5. macman January 28, 2013 / 7:02 am

    Love this painting! What’s the “pyrrol” in the title mean?

  6. David January 29, 2013 / 5:29 am

    Thanks for the comments, everyone!
    Macman – the “pyrrol” is basically a shade of Daniel Smith red paint. But, I found a definition that says: “…so called because it colors a splinter of wood moistened with hydrochloric acid a deep red”. I’ve not actually tried this experiment, but will just have to trust that it’s true!

Leave a Reply

