Artlovers Know No Age Limits

I love when kids of all ages really look at and comment on my art… it may sound corny, but it helps give me hope for our future!  Sometimes, someone will go beyond that and really surprise me though.  I recently had an exchange with a new fan that started with an email that said, “Hello.  I really like your art and wanted to say ‘good job’.”  I replied with my usual thank-you email and encouraged them to sign up for my email list or to Like me on Facebook where I post occassional art specials for folks.  I love the repy I got back:

I can’t get any of your artwork because I’m only 10.

Well, if this young art fan is able to get her parent’s permission, I’ll be sending her one of my flapjacks to get her collection started – you’re never too young!!

3 thoughts on “Artlovers Know No Age Limits

  1. Daniel Sroka August 3, 2010 / 9:00 am

    I know what you mean! I was contacted this spring by a 5th grade student working on a school project. They had to find someone they wanted to work for, and “apply” for a job with them. She wrote me that she wanted to work for me because she loved what I did, and was fascinated to learn how it all happens. We had such a fun conversation (on speaker phone with her class), and it was great to be able to share the art-making experience with a new group of future artists and/or collectors.

  2. Karen Stiehl Osborn August 3, 2010 / 10:50 am

    What a great story, and kudos to you for encouraging a youngster’s appreciation of art!

  3. Ellen S. August 9, 2010 / 8:09 pm

    LOVE that! So cool that the internet has allowed kids to seek out things that they are interested in.

Leave a Reply

