David’s Tillamook Baked Mac-n-Cheese Recipe

OK folks… I’m back in Denver but haven’t forgotten that I promised to post my Tillamook Baked Mac-n-Cheese recipe.  The most important ingredient is genuine Tillamook Cheddar cheese.  I personally use their medium sharp or sometimes their extra sharp white reserve cheddar.  I can usually get either one in our local Costco.  Visit their website (www.tillamookcheese.com) for more recipes and to join their fan club!

One other note – this is a baked casserole type mac-n-cheese very similar to how my Mom made it.  No bechamel sauce here!!  So, if you like really soupy-saucy mac-n-cheese, this recipe lends a much more baked and firm texture.  Here’s the recipe – enjoy!

1.5 cups small curd cottage cheese
6 oz. whipped cream cheese
1 egg
seasoning to taste (I use 1 teaspoon each of black pepper and onion powder and 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder; a general seasoning mix is good too, although avoid too much additional salt!)

Mix the above ingredients in a large bowl with a whisk until well-combined.  Then mix in the following cheeses:

3.5 cups grated Tillamook medium sharp cheddar cheese
1/2 – 1 cup grated gruyere cheese

Cook 14-16 oz. of pasta according to directions for “al dente” (I usually don’t use elbow, but something larger like penne).  Drain pasta, toss and cool for a few minutes and then mix into the cheese mixture.  Pour mac-n-cheese into a buttered 2.5 quart casserole dish, top with additional grated gruyere and bake at 325 degrees for about 45 minutes.  Mac-n-cheese should be bubbling throughout and have a golden crust on top.  Enjoy!

Baked Mac-n-Cheese (I had to use a glass pie dish... the only thing available in my Oregon Coast rental condo).
2 thoughts on “David’s Tillamook Baked Mac-n-Cheese Recipe

  1. Alyson B. Stanfield March 9, 2010 / 7:12 pm

    Yum! First Tillamook is THE BEST cheese around and I love it that I can buy it at Costco. I just didn’t know it was in Oregon.

    Have you done this with GF pasta?

  2. susan schmitt March 11, 2010 / 2:34 pm

    that is beautiful

Leave a Reply

