Out of the Studio: Red Door, Coal Room Demolition, Camping…

I notice that I’m not the only blogger that has taken some time off this summer from regular blogging.  At the beginning of the summer I knew that I would have some out of the studio time in July and August to work on home renovation projects and travel a bit, including a solo camping trip to one of my favorite spots in Colorado, just outside of Leadville.

So, in my effort to get back into the swing of things, I thought I’d post a few snapshots from the last 2 months of a few of my outside-of-the-studio activities!  I’ll share more about my favorite camping spot in another post.

After 11 years in our home, I tore out the original coal room from 1899 in our basement.
After 11 years in our home, I finally tore out the original 1899 coal room from our basement.
Red doors might be cliche, but we've always wanted one.  The "right" red is tough and I got this one on the first try: Behr "Heirloom Red".
Red doors might be cliche, but we've always wanted one. The "right" red is tough and I got this one on the first try: Behr "Heirloom Red".
My camping perch above Turquoise Lake and Leadville, Colorado.
My camping perch above Turquoise Lake and Leadville, Colorado.
4 thoughts on “Out of the Studio: Red Door, Coal Room Demolition, Camping…

  1. gluten free steve August 18, 2009 / 5:54 pm

    I love our red door – thank you for painting it for us. Your camping perch looks quite peaceful.

  2. Seth August 19, 2009 / 9:12 am

    Nice! Thanks for the tour.

  3. Janet August 20, 2009 / 5:38 am

    The camping spot really makes me miss CO. I am working on a ‘fantasy’ landscape based on a photo from a driving trip over Independence Pass…

  4. Eddy Sanders October 29, 2009 / 2:35 pm

    The coal room gives me flashbacks. When we took the one out of the house on Columbine, we found a pit of souls under the dividing wall. The perfect Red!

Leave a Reply

