A Word About Substitute Reality

It was in, perhaps, 1989 or 1990 that a co-worker and I thought we coined an awfully useful new term: “substitute reality”.  I was pretty fresh out of college and working for a software development/consulting company where we often seemed to be surrounded by project managers and bosses and clients that loved to operate in what we saw as a clear and present substitute reality.

Project Manager: “Oh, we’ll have that telecom billing code completely tested and ready for production by tomorrow.”

Boss of the Whole Place: “We can have an team of developers highly experienced in coal mineral rights billing software onsite in South Dakota by tomorrow morning.”

Client: “We found this whole list of requirements that we forgot about that must be implemented for launch… tomorrow.”

Well, a dream I had awhile ago has had me thinking about and noticing that episodes of substitute reality continue to happen all around me nearly two decades later.  And, at the risk of sounding unbalanced and cryptic, I’ve been wondering how much of my own substitute reality I operate in when I’m working away in my studio?

My studio... my own "substitute reality"??
My studio... my own "substitute reality"??
4 thoughts on “A Word About Substitute Reality

  1. severnyproductions July 22, 2009 / 7:06 am

    everybody creates a substitute reality be it work or studios etc

  2. chewy July 22, 2009 / 4:16 pm

    You studio is full of color. My substitute reality is when I’m painting and get into “the zone” – nothing but me and the paint.

  3. Janet August 8, 2009 / 1:47 pm

    What happy pills are you taking and are you sharing?

  4. kathi September 19, 2009 / 8:31 am

    Hi David,
    I found your blog this morning when I did a search about how to seal watercolors. I’m making some dollhouse miniature “art.” Your suggestion was very helpful. I might even have some Krylon Sealer around here somewhere… I wish my “studio” looked like yours! Your art is amazing! Thanks for sharing your tips and techniques too.
    Blessings,
    Kathi

Leave a Reply

