Experimental “Fossils” on 300lb. Rough Paper

I went to Meininger’s “Garage Sale” a few weeks ago and (with much restraint) walked out with less than 10 items… one of which was a pack of 300lb. rough watercolor paper.  After having used very smooth, hotpress watercolor papers for several years, and after my fun experimenting on black paper, I thought this would be a good paper for shaking things up some more.

So, I started with some small “fossils” and was somewhat pleased with this result.  More are in progress!

Mini Fossils on rough watercolor paper, about 6 x 6 inches.
Mini Fossils on rough watercolor paper, about 6 x 6 inches.
4 thoughts on “Experimental “Fossils” on 300lb. Rough Paper

  1. todaysnewsart June 25, 2009 / 12:56 pm

    I think it’s really pretty. Looks like the abstract art you can buy on like allposters.com

  2. Seth June 26, 2009 / 6:52 am

    This looks really good. Looking forward to seeing more!

  3. chewy June 26, 2009 / 4:30 pm

    The rough paper adds another dimension of texture. Looks a bit like animal skin. If I stretch my imagination without being gross… mummied skin is sorta fossilized. Like Native American dyed skins for shoes and clothing.

    It’s been a while since I’ve visited. I hope all is well and your art is selling. (smile)

  4. marie danti July 3, 2009 / 7:40 pm

    Hi David,
    good to see your new fossils! (that 300 lb watercolor paper serves lots of purpose. I did SW earrings using it many moons ago.
    I enjoy your site & really felt for your “bummer” galley experience. Your talent will sustain you!

Leave a Reply

