Postpainting Depression…

I finished a new tall spring trees painting today… and immediately slumped into a postpainting depression.  This actually happens to me often after I finish a large painting or one that I’ve been working on for awhile.  In this case, both apply since I’ve been working on this painting for over a month now… on the bright side, it will be framed and delivered to Rue 32 Gallery in northwest Denver next week!

Does this happen to other artists out there??

Since summer has arrived here in Denver, perhaps I’ll go sit outside and soak up some sunshine while I eat lunch to perk me up.

"More Spring Trees", watercolor, 46 x 15 inches.
"More Spring Trees", watercolor, 46 x 15 inches.
5 thoughts on “Postpainting Depression…

  1. Kim Hambric April 21, 2009 / 12:34 pm

    Congratulations on your piece for the Denver Public Library.

    For some reason, when I finish a large piece, I am thrilled (especially if it is a commission and I will be paid). Then, I worry and pace. I know without a doubt I will never be able to create again. I may as well go out and find the worst job ever. I try to go to the studio and find I’m much happier doing nothing. Eventually, my studio lets me back in. I find a stray piece of fabric. My brain takes off and a new piece (or pieces) starts to form.

    You’d think I’d be used to this by now. I’ll never get used to that useless feeling.

  2. Ruth Armitage April 22, 2009 / 3:06 pm

    Hi David,
    Thanks for posting about this today, because it is exactly what I am going through! Just finished my door project, that has taken the last month+/- and I am sort of at loose ends and blue. Glad I’m not alone! Guess the only cure is to paint another painting! Enjoy the spring weather today….

  3. Shayla May 7, 2009 / 8:36 am

    hah, good term, “post painting depression” kind of like post partum… I’ll have to remember that. By the way, I especially loved your watercolor on black that you did awhile back.

  4. Bizzy May 19, 2009 / 10:03 am

    Funny you mention that David, I find that after I have a closing on a house (with my Real Estate clients) I feel that way a bit. You have all this build up to the big event (deadlines, important dates, lots of phone calls, emails, paperwork, etc.) and then it’s over. But then you start the process with another wonderful client. Each transaction is unique…just like each of your paintings is unique. It’s always fun to start the process again with a new goal in mind.

  5. davidcastleart May 20, 2009 / 9:40 am

    Thanks for all of the replies sharing on this!

    That’s interesting, Bizzy… For me, this seems to be something unique to my artist career. When I worked in my corporate technology career, we might have done some “lessons learned” after a project, but it sure would have been frowned upon to have sat around being depressed afterwards and thinking about what I had created!

Leave a Reply

