Unusual Sighting in Our Denver Backyard: Wild Turkeys

Quite a surprising sighting in our own backyard when I got home from my studio yesterday: 3 wild turkeys!  While we don’t live in downtown Denver, we do live a block from Cheesman Park and the Denver Botanic Gardens, which is a pretty densely populated neighborhood about 1.5 miles from downtown.  I’ve never seen  a wild turkey in Colorado, much less in Denver, but there they were.  After flying from our carriage house into our neighbor’s backyard, I last saw them running up the sidewalk towards the Botanic Gardens.

I guess it pays to keep my eyes open, because I never would have believed this!

One of the three turkeys perched on the corner of our carriage house in Denver.
One of the three turkeys perched on the corner of our carriage house in Denver.
5 thoughts on “Unusual Sighting in Our Denver Backyard: Wild Turkeys

  1. Ellen April 7, 2009 / 3:23 pm

    ?That’s hysterical!

  2. GFS April 7, 2009 / 7:12 pm

    If I didn’t see them walking down the street with my own two eyes I would have never believed it myself!

  3. Eddy Sanders April 8, 2009 / 6:25 am

    Odd. My uncle was visiting last night. Recent animal sightings came up and he related how lately turkeys had been visiting his garden in town. It may be a movement.

  4. Kathleen April 22, 2015 / 10:52 am

    We have a large wild turkey lounging in our backyard — also 2 blks from Cheesman. Have lived here 30 years and have never seen such a thing!

Leave a Reply

