A View From Elsewhere #1: Colorado + The Netherlands

avfe-title-tagWell, I would have arrived on the Oregon Coast today, had I been able to make my painting sojourn this winter.

Instead, in January and February, I’ll be sharing some “views from elsewhere” – snapshots from a variety of different artists’ studio or creative space.  I’ve invited folks to send me such a snapshot since I’m highly inspired by a view of different places.  I hope that sharing them with my readers will also inspire you or at least give you a moments pause to absorbe some “elsewhere”!  [All photos are by the respective artists]

Janet Nunn – Golden, Colorado

Visit Janet’s website

Trees and snow seem to be a sort of theme for many of the snapshots I’ve been getting and Janet sure has a great view of both.  She writes that she loves to paint “while the snow flies” and I agree – I find I’m both more inspired and motivated to create when the weather is doing something other than the same, boring sunshine that we get so much of here in Denver.

View from Janet Nunn's studio in Golden, Colorado.
View from Janet Nunn's studio in Golden, Colorado.

Wietske Kluck – Hazerswoude Rijndijk, The Netherlands

Visit Wietske’s blog

I love these Dutch trees as viewed from Wietske’s window in her studio in the Netherlands.  She writes that her view isn’t interesting at all: houses, a street with cars and some trees.  I’m glad she shared the trees – this snapshot instantly transports me “elsewhere”!  Be sure to try out the Google “translate” feature on her blog!

View of winter trees from Wietske's studio window.
View of winter trees from Wietske's studio window.
2 thoughts on “A View From Elsewhere #1: Colorado + The Netherlands

  1. Seth January 16, 2009 / 6:12 pm

    Both views are quite beautiful and inspiring…and in such contrast to my own view.

  2. Shayla January 19, 2009 / 12:39 pm

    Love the tree branches. The lines are fabulous.

Leave a Reply

