Send Me Your “Elsewhere”

Some of you may know that I had hoped to go on a month-long painting sojourn on the Oregon Coast this winter (I’ve gone 4 times in the last 6 years).  Since I’m highly inspired by different places, this trip has become increasingly important to me and my creative process.  I’m sad to report that the expense of opening my new studio last summer and the reality of slow sales will keep me home this winter.

 

So, since I won’t be viewing the Pacific from the Oregon coast this winter, I’m looking for some alternative inspiration in the form of different places (which I’m going to call “elsewhere”).

 

I’d love to invite you to participate in a series of blogs I’ll be doing about a “view of elsewhere”.  More specifically, a snapshot out YOUR studio or creative space window/door.  You can include part of your studio in the view, but I’m keen on seeing the “elsewhere” that is what you see when you gaze out.

 

I plan to keep my posts on this simple – just a few thoughts on “views of elsewhere” and how it is impacting me in my studio.  And then I’ll include your snapshot with your caption, and a link to your blog/website.

 

So, if you’d like to participate, all I need from you is a snapshot out your studio (or wherever you create) window/door (in a size/resolution you’d use for your own blog/website), an accompanying short caption, and the link you’d like me to include in my post.  I’ll use as many snapshots as I can, but if you’d like to participate, email me your submissions by 1/31/2009.

 

My own "elsewhere"... the view out my studio window today.  The blue backside of the Napa Auto Parts store looked even brighter as winter made a rare appearance.
My own "elsewhere"... the view out my studio window today. The blue backside of the Napa Auto Parts store looked even brighter as winter made a rare appearance.
14 thoughts on “Send Me Your “Elsewhere”

  1. Gluten Free Steve January 13, 2009 / 2:19 pm

    You may be sad that you don’t get to getaway, but I’m glad it’s more time with you!

  2. krissie January 27, 2009 / 10:42 pm

    Hi david – where do I send my snapshots too? please give me the email address thanks!

  3. bobbi January 28, 2009 / 3:46 pm

    I live at the oregon coast, so if you’d like to come and view my blog and flickr site you can do a bit of a virtual vacation!

  4. elizabeth bunsen January 28, 2009 / 9:03 pm

    yes – I love this idea – sent you mine and posted with links as well – via Seth – dear Seth…

    xox – eb.

  5. JeriAnn January 29, 2009 / 7:44 am

    I found you via eb via Seth and love your idea! By sharing the splendid isolation of the artist we prove that in spite of ourselves, we are all connected. I will e-mail my contribution. Thanks!

  6. stephanie January 29, 2009 / 8:28 am

    I found you via Seth as well…what a wonderful idea…

    happy to have found you and ALL these wonderul views.

Leave a Reply

