Denali Residency: The Rejection Letter That Doesn’t…

That doesn’t actually reject, that is.  This was my first of 10 residency programs that I pledged to apply to in 2009 (I sent in my application back in November).  I received my “rejection” letter in December and noticed that it was carefully crafted to not actually reject me – how nice!  Really!

This would have been quite an interesting program and I’m sorry that I was not chosen.  In doing some research, I noticed that the majority of artists selected in past years and for 2009 have a much healthier dose of realism in their art than I do.

Good luck to the selected artists – I look forward to seeing what their experience produces!

My rejection letter for Denali... no rejection actually included!
My rejection letter for Denali... no rejection actually included!
4 thoughts on “Denali Residency: The Rejection Letter That Doesn’t…

  1. Sheila Cunningham January 6, 2009 / 10:22 pm

    David, What a classy group to send a nice rejection letter.
    I have had all sorts of rejection letters but the ones that stand out are the really classy letters and the really mean one.

  2. Sari Grove January 6, 2009 / 11:07 pm

    Hi… This is what I do…I do the thing anyway, without being accepted…Whether I apply for something & get rejected, or want to particpate but know I won’t get in- I do the thing either way…Like say getting accepted means going to Alaska…So, I just plan a trip & go to Alaska …even after getting rejected…The rejecters can’t stop me from seeing the inspiration that they are enjoying…To heck with acceptances & rejections…I study opportunity lists now just to get ideas about what I’m going to do next…Who needs the emotional rollercoaster ? Then you get beautiful new work …& then everybody wants you…(these days I only apply to things I pretty much know I’m going to get…) Just pretend like you did get accepted & do the parts that you wanted to participate in…Minus the mean people who were too small minded to take you in…Things always work out for a reason…Maybe a better opportunity will open itself up that you couldn’t have taken if you got this one…anyway, Happy New Year, the ox is a hard worker -(Chinese New Year coming up…) Sari

  3. Seth January 9, 2009 / 7:41 pm

    What a gentle rejection.I noticed also that 3 of the 4 artists chosen were local. Good luck on hearing from the other sites.

  4. jen December 7, 2009 / 1:13 pm

    Hi David, I too have pledged to myself to apply to at least 5 residency programs for 2010, and Denali was one of them. I have not heard back from them yet, but I am still crossing my fingers! Thanks for sharing your experience, and if it comes to pass that I get a rejection letter from them, I will take in your words of acceptance. Good luck with your work! Jen

Leave a Reply

