Recent Travels – Bodega Bay, CA = Iridescent Topaz

I’ve been traveling alot in September and October, but am back at home and have been sorting through the volume of pictures I took.  Since I am greatly inspired by different places, my upcoming posts will be about the different places I’ve been and how they are inspiring me in my studio.

As an abstract painter, I sometimes work from photos of the real world – often picking up on colors I find.  Here’s one of my snapshots from the Sonoma Coast north of Bodega Bay.  Yes, I loved the cool colors of the Pacific, but am also inspired by the hillsides of the Golden State.  Made me think of one of my favorite Daniel Smith colors, Iridescent Topaz, which I’ve been painting with over the last few weeks.

Sonoma County hillsides, just north of Bodega Bay
Sonoma County hillsides, just north of Bodega Bay

One thought on “Recent Travels – Bodega Bay, CA = Iridescent Topaz

  1. virtualnexus October 14, 2008 / 1:26 pm

    Lovely original ideas – especially liked the canvas boxes on your website. All the best with the series of posts.

Leave a Reply

