“Divided We Are” Painting Finished…

I finished my political painting this week and titled it “Divided We Are”.  I started out with painting one of my “traditional” elementals paintings in blues and reds.  It’s a bit hard to see, but some of the squares run together, creating some purple areas, and I’ve added a bit of sepia into some of the red squares on the far right.  We’ll call it “mud”.

For the past few weeks, I’ve been keeping a list of words to add to my painting in my studio journal.  I think I ended up with over 200 words (people, places, things, actions, emotions) to work with – and, it took me two days to choose which ones to add to my painting.

Also a bit hard to see in my photo, I sliced the paper down the “middle”, leaving the outside edges intact so that I created an open slit.  I then mounted my paper onto acrylic-embellished stretched canvas (here’s how), inserting paper wedges under the edges of the slit so that they gaped open.

So, that’s how I see things right now in July of 2008: “Divided We Are”.  My painting will be on display in the “UnConventional” exhibit at The Other Side Arts in Denver through the end of August.


Divided We Are, watercolor on paper (canvas-mounted), 24 x 24 inches.

2 thoughts on ““Divided We Are” Painting Finished…

  1. Ty August 6, 2008 / 8:17 am

    David – LOVE IT!

    Ty

  2. Alyson B. Stanfield August 20, 2008 / 1:09 pm

    Good to see this David. You’re right, though. You can’t see that split in the paper very well. Hope I can see it in person soon! As I told you yesterday, I’m not so crazy about political art, but I like how this conforms to your style.

Leave a Reply

