A Call For Entries to Bleed Off Some Anxiety

I usually avoid getting into politics here on my blog, but to be honest, politics and the past 7 years of mis-direction for our country is a big source of anxiety and worry for me.  Like other things that stir up big emotions with me (such as my nostalgia for different places that I mentioned in my last post), this source of anxiety comes out in my creative process and, ultimately, my art.

Sometimes it might be just an elemental square or two that end up “looking anxious”.  Or, maybe it’s a bit more bold and front-and-center like my color choices and titling for the painting below that I started on Election Day in 2004.

So, on Friday, I started the backwashes for a new painting that I plan to finish for a new Call for Entry for a special political exhibit titled “UnConventional” at The Other Side Arts (TOSA) here in Denver.  I’ll keep everyone posted on my progress as my concept and painting developes and I (hopefully) am able to bleed off some of this anxiety.


David Castle, Election Day 2004 – Blood and Red Ink, watercolor and gouache on paper, 28 x 22 inches.

3 thoughts on “A Call For Entries to Bleed Off Some Anxiety

  1. Joey P. July 14, 2008 / 11:24 am

    You’re not alone in your political angst. There are others here who have that as well. Many politicians have ruined our country, and it doesn’t help when you have average Americans who really don’t think the cost for the war affects them or their family. I’m eager to see your entry!

  2. zehra July 15, 2008 / 9:48 pm

    Hi David! Thank you so much for your reply, I was so surprised. I also wanted to know about the varnish you use to finish your paintings- have you tried a lacquer spray? Also, does this varnish give your paintings a sheen or does it just protect them? I hope you don’t mind my questions, I just appreciate your work and as a painter I would like to improve. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

