A Little “Gem” by Lisa Wharton

Here’s the small mixed-media original art that we purchased at the recent Art Students League of Denver Summer Art Market by Lisa Wharton.

Lisa had quite a variety of these small originals at the Market – many of them evoked my nostalgia for different places.  I love New England and was immediately drawn to this “little gem” of art.

Visit Lisa’s website at: www.urbanbirdonline.com and her blog here.


Lisa Wharton, untitled, mixed media on wood panel, 6 x 6 inches.

5 thoughts on “A Little “Gem” by Lisa Wharton

  1. Ed T. July 14, 2008 / 3:35 am

    I can see why you like it, it has a very nice quality about it, but I’m partial to olive green so I guess I’m prejudiced. It feels modern and old-fashioned at the same time. Thanks for sharing

  2. lisa wharton July 14, 2008 / 8:37 am

    Im so glad this piece has a good home. It is such an honor when a respected fellow artist likes my work enough to hang it in their own space. thanks for blogging about it too! – lisa

  3. Seth July 23, 2008 / 6:11 pm

    Great piece. A little vintage, a little modern, a little whimsy, and a little folk.

  4. Marilyn August 22, 2008 / 2:04 pm

    Yummy red, black and white! How striking this is.

  5. Aric Keith August 27, 2008 / 3:59 pm

    Thanks for pointing me to Lisa’s work! I’m inspired now! I haven’t done linoprint or the like in a long time. Of course, finding your blog has been inspriational too. Watercolor has been a long time in the past as well.

    I’ll be watching the RSS from now on!

Leave a Reply

