Rudeness is Just Unnecessary…

This morning I drove down to the Curtis Arts & Humanities Center in Greenwood Village to drop off artwork for the upcoming Colorado Watercolor Society’s “New Trends Exhibit”.

The Curtis Center is a great little art space, but I’ll have to say that the Cultural Arts Coordinator, Jo Cole, was just a bit unnecessarily rude to me.  She first ordered me to remove the packaging on my art and then instructed me to lean my metal-framed art up against the glass/plexi of another, larger painting.  When I voiced my concern about damaging the art, she rudely informed me that glass can’t get damaged (which is untrue for glass and VERY untrue for plexiglass).  I left not only wondering why I deserved even this minor rudeness, but concerned about how well my art would be taken care of while at the Curtis Center.

I think there is way too much rudeness in our everyday lives.  I’ve personally struggled with anger issues for many years and am sure I can further improve my interactions with others.  In fact, I will renew my personal pledge right now to be kinder and gentler to everyone I meet!

 
Elementals No. 9, watercolor on paper, 16 x 26 inches.  On display at the “New Trends Exhibit” at the Curtis Arts Center, May 3 – 30, 2008.

2 thoughts on “Rudeness is Just Unnecessary…

  1. J.McFarland April 28, 2008 / 6:11 pm

    Excuse me, rudeness! I agree that too many people are rude these days, and manners seem to be non-existent. I commend you on your personal pledge. One of my biggest pet peeves besides rude people is people talking VERY loudly on their mobiles as they walk in public, take the train, or sit in a cafe and eat. That’s just another degree of rudeness. Miss Manners, where are you? We need you…

  2. Robyn July 26, 2008 / 11:07 pm

    I’ve experienced rudeness in a gallery I was supplying with artwork and must say I felt extremely wounded. I extricated myself graciously but had to wonder why I didn’t say something at the time.It’s just not in my nature to cause a scene…..untill the final straw that breaks the camels back.

Leave a Reply

