Artist Sharon Feder Exhibit, “Passages” at Ironton

Last night I attended a wonderful preview reception of Denver artist Sharon Feder’s new exhibit, “Passages” at Ironton Studios in Denver.  Sharon paints “abstractions of nature and architecture” and captures something that I really love – a sense of “place”.

Her Trainyard No. 1 in particular was my favorite… it made me want to step right in and soak up the scene that she created.  I’ll admit that I’ve always been drawn to trains.  I even wanted to be a train engineer when I was young, but according to my father, I’d have to join a “union” and would then be “kicked out of the family”.  I was only about eight, so didn’t know what a “union” was, but surely didn’t want to become an engineer and then get kicked out of the family (can you imagine?!).

With all of Sharon’s art in this exhibit, I also love the layering that she acheives with color and texture.  And, I like that she is now painting on panel.  Sharon was a pleasure to meet and fun to talk with!

Be sure to check out her art during the exhibit – the Opening Reception is tonight, Friday, April 18th from 6pm – 9pm and again on First Friday, May 2nd from 6pm – 10pm (after you come by my new studio party!).  The exhibit is ongoing through May 17, 2008.


Sharon Feder, Trainyard No. 1 (detail), 36 x 48 inches, oil on panel, 2008.

2 thoughts on “Artist Sharon Feder Exhibit, “Passages” at Ironton

  1. Sharon Feder April 18, 2008 / 1:49 pm

    Thanks much for the lovely descriptions and for sharing your connection with my work, David. In painting my fascination with color saturation in shadows and light; with geometry; and with connecting to the viewer, meeting you and reading your comments have been quite a reward! Sharon

Leave a Reply

