Sap Green

I recently heard an artist friend of mine mention that Sap Green was one of her favorite colors.  At the time my reaction was, well, I was just shocked.  Out of all of the colors out there, how could an artist chose Sap Green as one of their favorites?!  After all, I consider myself a colorist and I’ve never really thought much of Sap Green (remember I’m primarily an abstract painter!).

For some reason, this comment has stuck in my mind as I’ve painted over the last few months.  One could even see me occasionally shaking my head and muttering “Sap Green” while painting in my studio.  Maybe I’d need to paint more realistic landscapes or trees to discover an appreciation of Sap Green, I’d think to myself.  Too bad that the thought of painting in realism usually makes me a bit ill to my stomach, so I certainly didn’t run right to my fat-and-full tubes of Sap Green to try them out.

Well, I also believe I’d never be where I am as an artist if it weren’t for my enthusiasm for experimentation.  I love to experiment.  I love to pick up one of my color theory books (Itten most recently) and then dig through my paints to try something new.  In my digging last week looking for green paints there it was – Sap Green.

So, I gave it a try.  It did seem to work better than I thought it would with some of my favorites – Oxide of Chromium, Antique Seedling and Undersea Green.  Isn’t it great that we’re all so different?  I can’t see Sap Green becoming one of my favorites, but thanks to that one comment in passing, I’ve decided to keep it handy just in case.

purple-and-green-no-2.jpg
Purple and Green No. 2, watercolor, 22 x 22 inches.

3 thoughts on “Sap Green

  1. Johan Sebastian Bar September 8, 2008 / 10:32 pm

    That SUCKS, go & make a nice landscape man.

  2. davidcastleart November 10, 2008 / 1:33 pm

    Thanks, Katrina – I like this one, too!

    David.

Leave a Reply

