New Painting: “The Soul of Sally Kern”

Words do hurt.  They can mislead.  And, they can and do teach and inspire hate.

Sally Kern is a Republican lawmaker for the State of Oklahoma.  She recently announced that “Homosexuality is the biggest threat out nation has, even more so than terrorism or Islam”.  In this same speech to a small group of Republicans, she shared even more oppressive lies about gay Americans.  You can find the quotes and a recording of her comments on Pam’s House Blend blog.

Sally’s words have been brewing around in me for weeks now as feelings of oppression, pain, sadness and bewilderment.  Since commentary on events like this isn’t my strong suite, I finally put brush to paper to create a painting that captured how this made me feel.

As I created this painting, I was really thinking about Sally’s God-given soul, which is a beautiful thing.  It’s the large rectangular shape in my painting.  You can see a beautiful, soft blue in the “top” part of her soul and above.  But it seems that dark purple and brown bruises, or cancer-like tumors are engulfing her soul from below.  And that’s the large purple “bruise” in the bottom of her soul.

Wow.  I realize this might be a bit heavy, but I really needed to get it out there and really wanted to share it.  I said a prayer for Sally and others like her who work so hard to oppress others in the name of God.

By the way, this painting is one of my 12×12″ canvas-mounted ones.  It is for sale for $300 and will go to the first person to send me an email.  I will donate 50% of this sale to GLAAD’s (Gay & Lesbian Alliance Against Defamation) national organization.

soul-of-sally-kern.jpg
The Soul of Sally Kern, watercolor on paper, mounted on canvas, 12 x 12 inches.

7 thoughts on “New Painting: “The Soul of Sally Kern”

  1. TR March 26, 2008 / 10:54 pm

    Beautiful: the art, the writing, the sentiments. Thank you.

  2. Ellen March 27, 2008 / 10:26 am

    What a wonderful response to such a hateful situation. I’ve forwarded a link to this around to some of my other friends who share your sentiments.

  3. Beth from Avenue Z April 1, 2008 / 9:08 pm

    David, what a beautiful way to share your feelings. I love what that painting represents.

  4. davidcastleart April 7, 2008 / 8:09 am

    Thanks for the feedback, everyone! I’ve also received some great emails… all with positive feedback.

    I’m starting to pay more attention to the rather non-visual things that inspire me, so you can look forward to more paintings that come from places that I can’t necessarily see or touch.

  5. davidcastleart April 18, 2008 / 11:29 am

    This painting has sold! Thanks to everyone that emailed me about it!

  6. Dawn March 17, 2010 / 8:45 pm

    I’m (obviously) back reading your blog, and while this painting is absolutely gorgeous, the story behind it is what really made me reach out and comment. You have managed to have kindness for someone that I’m not so sure I’d still be so kind for.

Leave a Reply

