Kathy Beekman Opening (Friday) & Demo (Saturday)!

A good friend of mine, pastel artist Kathy Beekman, opens a new show “Chasing the Light” tomorrow at Gallery 821 in Denver.

Kathy is one of those artists who creates paintings that I could step right in to.  For me it has to do with my fascination of “place” – Kathy’s paintings really do evoke a sense of yearning to just be there in that place and time (and her painting below is a great example!).

It promises to be a great show… and, there’s a bonus!  Kathy will be demonstrating her pastel painting at Gallery 821 this Saturday, February 16, from 12pm – 3pm.  Not only is she a treat to watch as she creates, but she’s a fun person to chat with a bit about her art and process.  Be sure to check it out – details below!

 kathy-beekman.jpg
Kathy Beekman, North to Montana, pastel.

Kathy Beekman: Chasing the Light
Pastel Paintings
February 14 – March 1, 2008

Opening Reception: Friday, February 15  |  5pm – 7pm

Artist Demonstration: Saturday, February 16  |  12pm – 3pm

Gallery 821
821 Santa Fe Drive
Denver, Colorado

Visit Kathy’s website to view more of her wonderful paintings:  www.KathyBeekman.com

2 thoughts on “Kathy Beekman Opening (Friday) & Demo (Saturday)!

  1. mcdc3s March 4, 2008 / 10:46 am

    Hello, I’ve met you though Seth at The Altered Page. I so appreciate your thought on donating art. I too have just agreed to donate a piece to my local Aveda Salon (Aveda Inc.) where the proceeds are going to Earth Day Foundation. I believed it would be going to a good cause as well – and agree, it would be difficult to donate a equal amount dollar wise. This donation will be my second. My first was a project to benefit my communities Art Council – which I am a member of. I think your painting is lovely and I am sure it will be greatly appreciated by whoever purchases it. It is for a great cause.

  2. davidcastleart March 4, 2008 / 8:21 pm

    mcdc3s – Thanks for your thoughts on donations. I’m thankful that I have a talent that I can use in this way, but believe strongly that artists should do some solid research on donation opportunities and work to maximize the impact of their donations. Great that you are making donations to some great causes!

Leave a Reply

