See my High Plein Air Painting at the Colorado History Museum

Remember my “plein air” painting that I did during Denver Arts Week?  It was selected by a jury for the High Plein Air Arts Exhibition at the Colorado History Museum!  The exhibit runs November 2 – 26, 2008 with the Opening Reception on Friday, November 2 from 6-9pm.

For those that missed my post about this event – several weeks ago, I participated in the High Plein Air Arts painting event in Denver’s Golden Triangle Museum District.  I chose a cityscape as my subject and worked from a snapshot I took of the Denver Central Library from beneath the “pointy overhang” of the Denver Art Museum.  I wasn’t able to paint on location as much as I had hoped, but am very happy with my results… this is a pretty unique elementals/cityscape painting!

denver-art-mus-sky-lib2.jpg
Denver Art Museum, Sky and Library, watercolor mounted on canvas, 24×26″.

golden-triangle-district.jpg
Reference Photo (credit: David Castle).

7 thoughts on “See my High Plein Air Painting at the Colorado History Museum

  1. Beth from Avenue Z October 30, 2007 / 7:59 am

    I hope there’s something up somewhere in Denver when I visit in December. This is fantastic!

  2. Tyler F October 30, 2007 / 5:35 pm

    Finally I found your blog! Your artwork looks great and I saw Nine Jewels in what looks like to be a corporate waiting room?!? 🙂 Good luck in Chicago!

  3. Linda Poore November 2, 2007 / 9:27 am

    Love your use of “blooms”. I taught a beginner watercolor class a few weeks ago and forgot to mention blooms. One appeared….at the door of a church in the snow. Couldn’t have been better planned. So I referred the class to your website! Great work – love visiting your site.

  4. Paul S. Kuber November 2, 2007 / 11:43 am

    Love your use of color. It has a very calming effect when I visit your website. Keep up the inspiring work for artists and non-artists alike.

  5. Cynthia Belling November 2, 2007 / 12:23 pm

    What a great landscape! Very impressive. Congrats on the jury selection, it’s well deserved…

  6. Eddy Sanders November 9, 2007 / 8:25 am

    Beautiful! Congrats.

Leave a Reply

