My Painting from the Denver High Plein Arts Festival

Alright everyone – I’ve finished my High Plein Arts Festival painting (see details of the event here) and I didn’t create onsite as much as I had hoped (but photographed and color sketched on the sidewalk along 13th Avenue last week).  After selecting my subject (the Denver Art Museum “pointy overhang”, the Denver sky and Denver Central Library “skyline”), I decided to paint in my elementals style, using lots of water in puddle-y elemental shapes.  Not something I’m able to do well “en plein aire”, so I opted to focus on my subject photography and color study for my onsite work and finished the main painting in my temporary studio at home.

I love my choice of subject from the Golden Triangle Museum District and the resulting painting – what do you think??

denver-art-museum-sky-lib.jpg
Denver Art Museum, Sky, Library, watercolor on paper, 24×26″.

One thought on “My Painting from the Denver High Plein Arts Festival

  1. Joan October 16, 2007 / 7:40 am

    David,

    I like this new element of artwork. I think it should sell well.

Leave a Reply

