Lordy, Lordy! David is 40!

Today is my 40th birthday.  Wow.  I’m mean, really, 4 DECADES of life here on Earth.  I don’t especially see this birthday as some great milestone – the milestones in my life seemed to have come whenever they want and not on a nice, neat 4-decade-demarcation such as today.

But, I will say my partner Steve gave me a really wonderful gift this morning to mark my 40th… and so many wonderful people in my life participated!  Months ago, Steve asked folks to create a piece of 8×8″ art using the theme of “castle” – it could be anything from a photo to original art to a poem.  WOW!  I’m so amazed at the creations people sent – from as far away as Germany!

I now have over 30 great pieces of art to commemorate my 40th birthday.  Some are paintings/collages from my professional artist friends (while others are from my especially artistic friends), some are photos from years past (including a photo of my Grandfather Castle that surely must be from the 1930’s, and some great photos of me and friends at various castles throughout Europe), some are written word/poems (some that made me laugh out loud and some that made me cry) and some are hand drawings from some great kids.

They are all wonderful – thank you so much to everyone that contributed!!  This will certainly be a gift to treasure for my next 40 years!  I think throughout the rest of October, I’ll post images of the art I received to share with everyone – see some below!

40th-birthday-art-perales.jpg
“Paper Castle” collage by Nancy P.

 40th-birthday-art-joan.jpg
Untitled Collage by Joan Z. (Steve’s Mom). 

40th-birthday-art-tracey.jpg
Untitled Collage by Tracey K.

2 thoughts on “Lordy, Lordy! David is 40!

  1. Steve October 10, 2007 / 10:58 am

    Well, the box may have been given to you by me, but the gift was truly from everyone who participated. Happy Birthday and many more!

  2. Beth from Avenue Z October 12, 2007 / 6:18 am

    David,

    The sentiment behind Steve’s gift almost made me cry. Happy Birthday!

    And the fact that I’m 39 next month almost makes me cry as well.

    [Sniff twice.]

Leave a Reply

