Studio Woes….

I typically strive to stay positive and upbeat in my life… and with my blog posts.  Today I have to share a bit about my current studio situation, which has rather quickly turned a bit sour.

One of the downsides of sharing a studio space is that I really only have control over me and my art (there are, of course, more downsides and plenty of upsides).  I’ve learned that the behaviour of others can sure be a big wildcard, especially when it can affect my creativity and work habits.

So, first the GOOD NEWS: I’ve had a new studio space (very close to my current location in the Santa Fe Arts District) under contract to BUY for several weeks now and expect to be moving in at the end of October!  This will be a space that I’ll own and I plan to make it a really great space for creating.  So, I’ll have more exciting announcements and info on that coming up very soon!

But, there is some BAD NEWS:  The sub-lease for my portion of our shared space isn’t being renewed and I must move out at the end of September.  So, I’ll be studio-less for several weeks.  This development was quite unexpected and it has created some operational issues (like rescheduling the carpal tunnel release surgery for my left hand) and has soured the creative atmosphere at the studio.  Rodney Wallace (who holds the lease to our studio and subleases to me and the other two artists) abruptly served me a written notice on September 1st that my lease would not be renewed – no “heads-up”, no discussion, no flexibility, no nothing.  I call that pretty sad behaviour.

I know many artists that are pretty particular about their creative space.  I know I’m one of them and I’ve worked pretty hard to stay flexible in our shared creative space.  I just sure wish that would have counted for some good old fashioned professional courtesy in a situation like this.  

6 thoughts on “Studio Woes….

  1. Smith September 7, 2007 / 5:43 pm

    Boo whoever Rodney Wallace is. I’d call that sour behaviour indeed. Eager to see your new space!

  2. Twig September 8, 2007 / 7:17 pm

    Hey David – Greats news on buying your own studio space! What are going to do while you’re in between studios?? Maybe you’ll come up to Boulder and paint with me in my space!

  3. Tracy September 10, 2007 / 8:58 am

    Hi David,
    I’m new here via Alyson’s referral on ArtBizBlog. Sorry to hear about your transition predicament. You can say, “there has to be a reason in this” many times over, but I can imagine it’s hard.

    I guess you have to focus on your soon-to-be new digs! How exciting! Don’t want to put the cart before the horse, but congrats!

    (BTW, really like your work! As a realistic painter struggling to abstract myself a little, I enjoy your paintings!)

  4. Ruggerart September 10, 2007 / 9:31 am

    Way cool that you are buying into your own studio space – I think the more artists that have ownership in their spaces the better!

    Hey – maybe you’ll come up to Portland and paint with me in my studio for a few weeks – how fun would that be!?

  5. Rebecca Finch September 12, 2007 / 9:41 am

    Not having a studio is rough. We moved into temporary housing July 1st, and most of my art supplies are in storage. I have my easel and oil painting supplies in a closet, here, but if I want to paint, I have to do it in the great outdoors. We are looking to close on a house in October. So we’ll be getting into our new spaces around the same time. I just keep looking forward to when I can set up my own space. I’ve been planning it all out mentally. It helps me get through the now.

    Best wishes to you as you have to move out and wait for the closing of your new space.

  6. June April 1, 2009 / 12:07 pm

    Hey David – I know this happened along time ago, but came through your new studio late last year and WOW! You sure have a great new space and think it is a much better creative space than your last one that you shared! Great job!

Leave a Reply

