“Stevie in the Shade” selected for special exhibit at the Art Students League of Denver!

Great news!  My recent elementals painting, Stevie in the Shade, that I’ve been hinting about recently was selected for the “Art on the River Exhibit” at the Art Students League of Denver – and awarded Second Place by the jurors!

I expect this to be a great exhibit of League students and citywide artists alike – all of original art inspired by Confluence Park in downtown Denver.  I worked from a photograph that I took of my partner Steve when we visited Confluence Park in early August.  The exhibition opens on Friday, October 5th, 2007 from 5:30pm – 8pm and will be a great kick-off event for Denver’s Art Week.

steve-in-the-shade-final.jpg
Stevie in the Shade, watercolor on paper, mounted on acrylic-embellished canvas, 24×24″.

6 thoughts on ““Stevie in the Shade” selected for special exhibit at the Art Students League of Denver!

  1. steve September 5, 2007 / 11:35 am

    Hey – that’s me! Even though I’m a bit biased about this painting, I do have to say I think it’s pretty neat the way you used your elemental technique to paint this one.

  2. Joan September 7, 2007 / 5:20 pm

    I may be prejudiced since I’m the “Producer” of the subject matter (Steve’s Mom), but I think this painting is fantastic. I especially like the colors and the way you created the background using your style of various shapes. This is a new element for you and I wish you much success with it.

    Joan

  3. davidcastleart September 10, 2007 / 10:51 am

    Steve and Joan – I’m so glad you both like this painting! It sure was fun (and different) for me to create a painting with both some realism AND an actual person in it.

  4. Cynthia October 8, 2007 / 1:24 pm

    Wow! I’ve not been on the site for a while, so just saw this painting. It’s fabulous! I love how different it is, yet has the Elementals look and feel. It’s like an exciting new book in a series that I’ve grown to know and love. How exciting to watch your art grow in new directions.

Leave a Reply

