Carpal Tunnel Surgery Update

I thought I’d give everyone an update on my recovery from carpal tunnel surgery…. first to thank everyone that commented here on my blog with encouraging words and well-wishes for a speedy recovery.  I also received quite a few emails from folks, so thank you again to everyone – all the thoughts and prayers have helped!

Second, I have a few snapshots from getting my stitches out this morning.  My surgeon, Dr. Hurley and his staff have been great, especially with my high level of anxiety on having my painting hand cut open!  But, I will say that I expected to be doing more with my hand at this point than I am.  After getting my stitches out this morning, I spent a bit of time in my studio (it has been almost 2 weeks since I last painted!), but will have to take it easy for awhile longer.  I know I’ll be able to paint more this week, but am not supposed to lift any real weight over a few pounds for the rest of the month.  Good thing most of my materials are pretty light weight!

Finally, a great big thank you to my partner Steve, who has been taking great care of me (from squeezing the toothpaste to doing all of the laundry)!  I’m sure things will be easier when I get my left hand done in September.

carpal-tunnel-stitches-1.jpg
Right before my hand was finally set free this morning from this darn bandage… 

carpal-tunnel-stitches-out.jpg
Right after getting my stitches out this morning…

11 thoughts on “Carpal Tunnel Surgery Update

  1. Steve August 6, 2007 / 4:04 pm

    Well, you were a good patient (most of the time!) so it was easy 🙂

  2. chewy August 10, 2007 / 6:37 am

    I’m happy to hear the healing process is going very well.

  3. Heather June 23, 2008 / 7:33 pm

    I had carpal tunnel surgery last month which
    turned out pretty good,but I’m real concerned about the palm of my hand. I have a bump there,and also when I move my hand it feels kind of tight. I don’t know if that’s normal or not. I go back to the doctor’s office soon,and maybe the doctor will know what causing my hand to do that.

    • james May 23, 2010 / 6:10 am

      Read your blog withinterest.
      I had the operation 6 weeks ago but
      not very satisfied with outcome.

      How long did it take for you to get
      back to normal?

  4. Deb Mars September 12, 2008 / 4:58 pm

    Hi David,
    I Googled Carpel Tunnel surgery and read your blog on this procedure. I’d like to talk to you about the recovery time etc etc.
    I’m glad you are doing well,
    Thanks
    Deb

  5. chris September 3, 2009 / 2:48 pm

    hi i am due to have surgery on my left hand on monday any info would be helpfull as scared having a local anisthetic please let me know
    everything

    • Bill May 8, 2010 / 2:25 pm

      I felt the same way had mine done yesterday. I asked the anesthesiologist to use less dose, he did. Slightly more feeling during a 15 min surrey, no problem. its not hard.

  6. jen March 11, 2010 / 4:47 pm

    Hey
    Thanks for putting yourself out there. wanted to know if you could let me know more about your experiance. I as well am a painter and cook. Thanks jen

  7. hayley April 23, 2010 / 11:24 pm

    Hi i am due to have surgery for carpal tunnel on 17th may, may only be a few weeks awaybut feel like it will never come around. I have suffered with this for the past 6 – 7 years and although i am most certainly looking forward to being pain free i have just seen some of the pictures of the procedure!

  8. Trenton Breslawski February 11, 2013 / 8:48 am

    The median nerve enters the palm by passing through an anatomical region called the carpal tunnel at the wrist. This region is bound by the bones in the hand on one side and a tough fibre on the other (flexor retinaculum). The tunnel is extremely narrow and any swelling inside it often pinches on the nerve.There are several factors that have been recognised as predisposing to the condition. One of them is being born with a smaller than normal tunnel. Persons with small tunnels have a higher chance of getting the syndrome, according to studies. Another significant risk factor is the repeated use of the wrist to execute the same motion over several weeks, months or years and especially when working with vibrating tools.:

    Brand new blog post on our very own blog site
    <http://www.foodsupplementcenter.com/l-lysine-for-cats/

Leave a Reply

