Colorado Art Ranch… rejected.

Many of my art friends and collectors know how I’m fascinated with and inspired by different places.  I sometimes yearn to be someplace else when I’m painting in my studio – usually someplace on the coast or someplace where it is autumn all of the time or someplace where it rains for days and days.

It’s not that I don’t love Colorado and my studio in the heart of the Santa Fe Arts District in Denver, because I certainly do.  I’ve just always been a dreamer about idyllic places.  And as an artist, I always dream about me creating art in these different places.  My nearly annual retreats to the Oregon coast to paint in winter is something I truely cherish.  But, it is an expensive retreat (although, another big thank-you to everyone that helped out with my trip this past January/February with the purchase of one of my Oregon Coast 12×12’s!).

So, I’ve been researching more artist residency programs, especially those that provide some or all of the space (studio, room and board) for free.  In May, I submitted my first application to the Colorado Art Ranch, which has a really great program here in Colorado.  Twice a year, they select a town in Colorado to set up their “nomadic” residency program – the location for this fall’s program is in Durango, Colorado.

I put together a package with my best art images, great answers to their application questions, including a great idea for my one day of “giving back to the community” (I proposed holding a workshop where people created a large community painting that we cut into fragements and did different things with the individual fragment paintings).  I even had three really great industry references.

I was really disappointed to find out recently that I had not been selected for the Durango residency (but did get a nice personal email from the Executive Director, Grant Pound).  You can be sure I’ll keep trying, fueled by my yearning for different places to create!

4 thoughts on “Colorado Art Ranch… rejected.

  1. ameubanks August 2, 2007 / 1:08 pm

    Seriously, I hate it for you. I appreciate your artwork, so I think you should not be discouraged! It sounds like you are a motivated hard worker. It will pay off in the future.

  2. Carol Radliff August 3, 2007 / 2:32 pm

    David,

    My husband Pete and I have enjoyed your art – and we are sorry to hear that you didn’t get accepted at the Art Ranch. We have dreamed of starting our own Artists Retreat Facility… maybe this is part of the dream.

  3. davidcastleart August 6, 2007 / 12:09 pm

    Thanks for the encouragement everyone! I will certainly keep applying!

    And Carol, I’d love to know more about your thoughts… I’ve also dreamt of starting a retreat program!

Leave a Reply

