Recovering from surgery…

According to my surgeon, Dr. Davis Hurley, the surgery on my right hand went well.  And, the carpal tunnel was apparently quite constricted, so he is optimistic about the results I will get once everything heals.  I’ll have my hand in a bandage for 10 days and then get my stiches out, so I might not be doing as much with my hand as I had hoped.  I’m going to take it easy through the weekend and see if I think I can do anything in my studio next week!

carpal-tunnel-right.jpg
Recouping at home with my hand on ice…

7 thoughts on “Recovering from surgery…

  1. Diane Clancy July 27, 2007 / 6:39 am

    Hi David,

    Glad you made it successfully through surgery!!

    Keep healing and I am sure all of us wish you the best. Sometimes you just have to rest and let the healing happen …

    Take care!
    ~ Diane Clancy
    http://www.dianeclancy.com/blog

  2. Ellen July 30, 2007 / 10:27 am

    I’m so glad that your surgery went well. I hope you let yourself really heal and take it easy. I love that dyptich you did! It was gorgeous~

    EWB

  3. Sean Feiler July 31, 2007 / 6:40 am

    Hey David-

    Good to see you recouperating. Maybe you could invoke Daniel Day-Lewis and paint with your left foot for awhile.

    Relax, enjoy the downtime, and take care of yourself.

    Best, Sean

  4. davidcastleart August 2, 2007 / 9:54 am

    Thanks for all of the well-wishes, everyone! I’m off my pain meds and can’t wait to get this bandage off and the stiches out so I can get on with my life! There is still some pain and I can’t lift much weight, but I’ll be back to painting next week!

  5. Steve August 2, 2007 / 10:32 am

    David’s been a fantastic patient throughout this whole ordeal! The doctor told me this surgery should really help him. He’s eager to be painting again full-time soon!

  6. Sean Feiler August 2, 2007 / 11:05 am

    Awesome- Really good to hear. Those pain medications can do funny things to you- Remind me to tell you about the time, fueled by Vicodin, I procured a trombone and a toy-clapping monkey, and whilst still in flannel pajamas pants and a half-shirt displaying “I’m With Stupid” but missing the all-important arrow pointing anywhere, I proceeded to attempt starting a musical faux-circus….

    Once the doctor allowed my release, I came to the understanding that maybe aspirin would be a better pain-management tool.

    But I digress.

  7. Bronwyn September 28, 2007 / 7:50 pm

    What a cute sooky face! (as in poor, poor, pitiful me) It makes the mother in me want to give you a hug & kiss better. hehe

Leave a Reply

