Carpal Tunnel Surgery – Right Hand First

I’ve not mentioned this to many folks – I’m scheduled to have my first carpal tunnel surgery on my right hand on Wednesday, July 25th (and I’ll have my left hand done in late August or early September).  I’ll admit I’m a bit nervous about the whole thing.  It is apparently (alledgedly?) pretty routine stuff, but when the surgery center called me today to get all the pre-op information they needed, she did emphasize that “while routine, it IS surgery”.  Recovery should be fairly quick, but I’ll be out of my studio until probably next week.

I first started having pain and numbness problems with both hands nearly ten years ago when I still worked as a technology guy.  Back then, they believed carpal tunnel was primarily due to work-related activities.  Now I’m told it is more likely genetic and NOT related to repetative work (such as computer work).  In any case, in the last few years, it has gotten progressively worse.  I now have to take short breaks from my painting several times a day to relieve numbness.  And, when doing intensive work such as renovating a rental property for two weeks recently, the pain and numbness gets so bad that I have to stop working completely after a few hours.

 So, even though I’m pretty nervous about the whole thing, I hope and pray that it will correct my problem so I can just get on with painting!

10 thoughts on “Carpal Tunnel Surgery – Right Hand First

  1. Diane Clancy July 25, 2007 / 12:19 pm

    Hi David,

    Good luck with your surgery!! I look forward to reading your blog when you get back.

    I have to wear wrist braces because of pain – but have not had to have surgery at this point (keeping my fingers crossed)

    Good luck again!

    ~ Diane Clancy
    http://www.dianeclancy.com/blog

  2. Sean Feiler July 26, 2007 / 5:27 am

    David, I hope things go extremely well (or being that it was yesterday, I hope it went extremely well). Good luck recouperating, and I look forward to seeing you in a couple of weeks!

    Sean

  3. Helge V. Keitel February 18, 2008 / 8:38 am

    David, I did read your story and wrote a blog about it. You can find it through the link.

    How are your hands? I hope the surgery did help you.

    Mediracer is a Finnish company that has invented a handheld device point of care diagnostics of CTS. It would be a perfect device for occupational health doctors and nurses to screen out risks at an early stage.

    The traditional ENMG is an expensive tool and it takes a neurophyiologist to make the diagnosis. Mediracer in combination with telemedical support would bring the service closer to patients for early detection.

    I would like to get your opinion. Wishing you all well.

    Br
    Helge

  4. Daniel Merk July 23, 2008 / 12:22 pm

    David, Can you tell me how your surgery went? I found myself in the same situation as you doing almost the exact same thing. I am an artist and designer and my day job puts me in such bad pain that I can not operate more than a few hours. I started a few remodel projects around the home and I can not stand the pain. I have surgery scheduled for next Tuesday and I wanted to hear about your recovery? Thanks.

  5. kelly November 18, 2008 / 6:50 am

    Hey David..how did it go?..im having surgerey this week..i am a painter aswell.

    Kelly

  6. LEO FONTANELLA March 2, 2009 / 8:01 am

    I had surgery on both hands, open release..
    right hand now perfect….left hand sore, but improving…..my only suggestion to those who are suffering and waiting…..don’t wait, the minor inconvenience is well worth it,….no more tingling, pain, numbness, or sleepless nights!

  7. Lynn July 21, 2009 / 5:50 am

    On 8 June I had CTS and surgery for arthritis on my right had. It has been a good experience and I have no regrets. My left hand surgery is planned for Sept.

  8. Gower July 29, 2009 / 6:31 pm

    I’m 17 years old and I am getting an invasive carpal tunnel surgery done on July 31st. Supposed to be a 3 week recovery time unless the doctor finds that the problem is worse than he thought then he will have to do the actually CTS.

  9. Bill Chalverus June 23, 2011 / 12:08 pm

    I’m considering have CTS but have nagging doubts regarding my symptoms. Thought I’d see if anyone can corroborate the positive diagnosis of bilateral carpal tunnel syndrome the nerve conduction study yielded.
    After going thru the painful wrists and finger numbness that radiated clear up to my right axilla and left me sleep deprived last fall, I did a couple of months of prednisone that reduced the pain and symptoms, but left me with skin rashes and other unpleasant side effects. I stopped that and now rely on ibuprophen. What now nags me is the knuckle pain and intermittent swelling in my fingers and hands. I can cope during the day, playing golf , working with my hands, playing guitar, etc. but nights are rough. Has this happened to anyone else out there and did CTS help?

Leave a Reply

