Monotype workshop with Lauri Lynnxe Murphy

This past weekend I took a monotype printing workshop with Denver artist Lauri Lynnxe Murphy, who also owns and runs Capsule Gallery and Event Center in the Santa Fe Arts District.

WOW!  I have been wanting to get an introduction to monotypes for awhile and loved learning in this workshop.  We had a small group – just four of us – which was really a perfect size.  As a primarily watermedia artist, I was both excited and frustrated to work with oil-based paints and inks – I love experimenting, but the oil-based paints sure behave differently than watercolors/gouache/acrylic.

I was intrigued by how different the process is from my watermedia painting.  Paints/inks are applied to a plexi “plate” with an infinite number of tools and then run through the press to print the image on paper.  I think it is the “running through the press” part that intrigued me.  Introducing such a machine into my creative process since it applies a bit of the unknown to the final result is pretty cool (well, as a beginner, it applied ALOT of the unknown to my images!).  Loved it and will be doing it again… check out one of my monotypes below.

It was also a big bonus to get to work with Lauri – I’ve bumped into her a few times around the art world and really appreciate her contributions.  I believe she plans to have additional workshops in the future – Lauri, how can people reach you if they’re interested?

 monotype-workshop-1.jpg
Monotype workshop in the basement at Capsule.

monotype-workshop-2.jpg
A few of my first prints… and the press in the background.

monotype-print-1.jpg
Untitled, monotype, 8×5″.

One thought on “Monotype workshop with Lauri Lynnxe Murphy

  1. jean July 17, 2007 / 7:03 am

    I love the process of printing, with each piece,a kind of secret little revelation.
    It would be really interesting if you could figure out how to bring your watercolor qualities into your new knowledge of printing.
    Experiment! It will be exciting to see.
    I used to do alot of small experimental prints using a medium size vice….the outcome was really exciting!

Leave a Reply

