Another Triptych Commission Completed!

I am truly fascinated with the possibilities of “triptych-izing” more of my watercolors on paper.  Today I completed another large commission painting that I literally cut into thirds and mounted on three acrylic-embellished canvas panels.  I have it hung in triptych form in my studio… for this one, I hung each panel flush (touching) with the adjacent panel to visually connect the cut jewel shapes across the panels.  It is the painting on the right of the snapshot below.

I’ll be starting another large watercolor to mount on triptych panels soon!

nested-jewels-commission.jpg
Jewels, Nested, watercolor on paper, mounted on three acrylic-embellished canvas panels (each panel is 44×16″).

4 thoughts on “Another Triptych Commission Completed!

  1. chewy June 21, 2007 / 9:35 am

    Hi David,

    I like the triptych panels touching, as seen hanging on the wall. Although, that is not one of my favorite pieces. (sorry) It seems more stagnant than the others. Could my perception be influenced because of the angle the photo is shot at?

    I’d like to see the one on the floor leaning against the wall with yellow, orange & red. Do you have a pic of it online somewhere?

  2. davidcastleart June 22, 2007 / 8:08 am

    Thanks for the feedback, folks! Chewy, your observation is interesting… much of my art seems to have lots of movement, but this latest triptych does kind of make me freeze (kind of like a deer in the headlights). I’ll find out today what my client thinks as I’m on my way out to hang it!

    I think the painting on the floor you’re talking about is the first one listed on my LE Print page here. This is one of my favorite (and most detailed) Elementals paintings.

  3. chewy June 23, 2007 / 6:01 pm

    Wow, that one is cool. I see organic tops of trees shapes fractured into squares and yet working together as larger shapes. Chuck Close’s pixel-like paintings was the first thing that came to my mind.

Leave a Reply

