I love Surface Tension!

According to Wikipedia, surface tension is an effect within the surface layer of a liquid that causes that layer to behave as an elastic sheet. This effect allows an insect such as the water strider to walk on water. It allows small metal objects such as needles, razor blades, or foil fragments to float on the surface of water.

Well, with some patience, practice and a watchful eye, I use surface tension as one of my favorite watercolor paintings “tools”.  Apparently it is measured in terms of “newtons per meter”… any scientists out there that want to come to my studio to measure one of my paintings in progress??  Any other artists have a surface tension technique to share?

surface-tension-1.jpg
I often use surface tension in my wash puddles to concentrate color in corners.

 surface-tension-3.jpg
A view of several puddles using surface tension to concentrate my paints in different areas.

2 thoughts on “I love Surface Tension!

  1. Sandra West August 16, 2008 / 9:14 am

    Surface tension is often studied in elementary and middle school science. What a great way to link art & science.

Leave a Reply

