Score a few for Contemporary Abstractions!

Over the past few years, I’ve submitted many of my abstract paintings to various juried shows and exhibits.  Some are for group shows at galleries and some for art organizations/centers both locally and nationally.  I’ve found that contemporary abstractions in a traditionally realistic/impressionistic medium such as watercolor can be a “hard sell”.

I quickly figured out that this is a problem that I think I can do something about; I’ve seen an increasing number of abstract watercolor paintings getting exposure in national exhibits.  So, I’ve focused seriously on the design elements and color theory in my paintings.  I’ve taken some great workshops with various artists (J. Salminen, Art Students League of Denver) to broaden my vision and my application of such things.  And, I’ve been applying the mathematics of Dynamic Symmetry to my paintings.

Well, something is working for me…. I’ve had three paintings in the last month accepted for a range of interesting exhibits.

Fossils in My Favorite Colors

Fossils in My Favorite Colors; watercolor on paper, mounted on acrylic-embellished canvas; 30 x 30″.
Selected for the Arizona Aqueous XXII National Watermedia Exhibit at the Tubac Arts Center (Tubac, AZ), February-March, 2007.

Fossils in B&W

Fossils in B&W; watercolor on paper, mounted on acrylic-embellished canvas; 24 x 24″.
Selected for the Abstraction 2.0 exhibit at Core New Art Space (Denver, CO), December, 2007.

 elementals-self-portrait.jpg

 Elementals – Self Portrait; watercolor on paper, mounted on acrylic-embellished canvas; 24 x 24″.
Selected for the Portrait Exhibit at the Evergreen Arts Center (Evergreen, CO), January, 2007.

One thought on “Score a few for Contemporary Abstractions!

  1. Irene Shepard January 9, 2007 / 7:31 pm

    I am your neighbour and my husband met you shovelling snow! You gave him your card and so I found your website. I like your watercolour abstracts very much. I have not seen very many. Actually, I don’t think I have seen any!
    Come over for a drink one day withnyour partner. Apartment 303 in the Arboretum.

Leave a Reply

