My First Self-Portrait

The history of artists and self-portraits is fascinating… I’ve been doing some of what I call “random research” on the topic (I start with a relevant internet search such as “self portrait, artists, 15th century” and then just do some good ole’ fashioned surfing and let the results take me where they will).

Back in October, I painted my first self-portrait in my Elementals style.  I wanted to expose a few of my, well, elements, and was intrigued by the results.  I chose my version of a classical 3/4 view, purples that felt like “seek”, eye/nose features that may be more than just a little skewed, and a “shout” of red that seems like “emphasis”.

elementals-self-portrait.jpg

Self Portrait, watercolor on paper, canvas-mounted; 24 x 24″

I painted this specifically for entry in the Evergreen Arts Center’s first self portrait show.  They are also publishing a calendar of their top 12 choices for sale in their art center.  While my portrait  wasn’t chosen for the calendar (maybe a bit too contemporary – I’ll find out when I see the calendar),  it was chosen for the show, so I’ll be taking it up there right before Christmas.  The show runs January 4 – 30, 2007 at the Evergreen Arts Center.

3 thoughts on “My First Self-Portrait

  1. matthew December 20, 2006 / 2:54 pm

    Very neat self portrait, David! I bought one of David’s origanl works at his last open studio for my condo, and I get so many great compliments on it.

  2. Sasha Ward October 15, 2007 / 8:19 am

    I think this is a great piece of art, it really made me chuckle!!

  3. Annis Karpenko July 24, 2008 / 3:50 am

    Hi David, I was wondering if you used a mirror, photograph or your emotions to produce this piece? If you could respond to my email that would be great.
    Best,
    Annis K

Leave a Reply

