avfe-title-tag2I love “elsewhere”!  Thank you to everyone that has sent me a snapshot… I have many more to post, so keep coming back for these great snapshots of “elsewhere” from artists!

If you’d like to send me your own snapshot of elsewhere, visit my original post with all of the details.

 

Seth Apter – New York, New York

Visit Seth’s blog – The Altered Page

I’ve been following Seth’s artwork and blog events for awhile now and was really excited that he sent me this snapshot from his New York studio.  In a strange way, this made me glad that my own studio view is the blue backside of a Napa Auto parts store… with the view Seth has, I’d never get any painting done!  On the other hand, this is the kind of view that I long for – an “elsewhere” to get lost in.  Seth writes that ” I get so much creative energy from New York City and having this view from my window is always inspiring”.   

Seth's studio view where he feels he is "part of the skyline".

Seth's studio view where he feels he is "part of the skyline".

Janet Fons – Saint Charles, Missouri

Visit Janet’s website

I’ve known Janet for several years and love her pastel paintings (which are views of “elsewhere” themselves!).  Janet moved from Denver to Missouri in 2007 and immediately applied for a studio space in the Foundry Art Centre just outside of St. Louis.  Last year she was awarded a studio space and this is her view… I love that her snapshot looks just like a glimpse of what she sees when glancing up from her painting. 

Janet's winter view from her window at the Foundry Art Centre in Saint Charles, MO.

Janet's winter view from her window at the Foundry Art Centre in Saint Charles, MO.

Stacey Peterson – Grandby, Colorado

Visit Stacey’s blog

Like me, Stacey is a former “corporate career” type now working as a full-time artist.  Stacey and her family recently moved to Grandby and I knew she’d have a great view from her studio – I love the snow and the promise of a hidden “elsewhere” if you were to follow that pathway you see on the hillside… Stacey writes that “In early morning and late afternoon, the sun rakes across the landscape creating a beautiful contrast between the warm, sunlit hills, and the cool shadows”.

Stacey's view of the wide open spaces in Granby, circled by hills and mountains.

Stacey's view of the wide open spaces in Granby, circled by hills and mountains.

